Mississippi Licensing Law
FAQs- Frequently Asked Questions
*This section is not intended to serve as legal advice. To view Mississippi’s complete licensing law, please visit www.auctioneers.ms.gov or contact the Mississippi Auctioneer Commission with any questions.
Mississippi Auctioneer Commission
P.O. Box 50
Morton, MS 39117
Age 18, high school diploma or GED, auctioneer school, two years auction business; exam if not grandfathered in.
Bankruptcy sale; sale by the U.S. or the State of Mississippi; sale by a charity or non-profit organization; sale of individual property; foreclosure sale; sale by sealed bid; sale by stockyard as defined in Federal Packers Act of 1921; sale of livestock by non-profit association.
Must an auctioneer hold a real estate license if he/she will only be calling bids at a real estate auction?
Must auctioneer hold a real estate license if he/she is handling all aspects of a real estate auction, including closing?
Must a person hold an auctioneer license to call bids at a real estate auction?
Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia
Does state require an examination?
Yes. Examination fee: $100.
Resident (gallery and livestock), $200 biennially; non-resident auctioneer (includes gallery and livestock), $450 biennially.
Does state require a bond?
Yes. Amount: $10,000.
Does state maintain its own recovery fund?
*The Mississippi Auctioneer Commission is the state licensing and regulatory authority that oversees compliance with the Mississippi Code of 1972 annotated, Chapter 4, Title 73. The Mississippi Auctioneers Association is a non-profit member organization completely independent of the Mississippi Auctioneer Commission. The Association is made up of Mississippi auction industry professionals who are subject to the laws and regulations set forth by the Commission.