Mississippi Auctioneers elect new officers

It was a lot of fast talking going on at the Mississippi Auctioneers Association annual convention April 3 at the Mississippi Cattlemen’s Association Convention Center in Jackson.

The Association elected new officers for 2017. Forest native and Nanih Waiya resident Courtney Jo Weaver was again elected as president to serve a second term. Henry Redmond of Poplarville and Brett Hollingsworth of Forest, were also named to second terms as vice president and secretary/treasurer respectively. Nick Clark of Madison was elected to the Association’s Board of Directors.

The annual conference is the most anticipated event of the MAA’s year, as members and non-members alike gather together to hear world class guest speakers, network with like-minded professionals, elect officers and board members, and attend the spectacular bid-calling competition known as the Mississippi State Auctioneer Championship. Bidders raised money to be donated to the Blaire E. Batson Children’s Hospital in Jackson.

When the final gavel fell, Jeff Martin took home the top honor as the 2017 Mississippi State Champion Auctioneer. Martin is President and CEO of Jeff Martin Auctioneers in Brooklyn. David Hegwood of Brandon was awarded the distinction of Mississippi State Rookie Auctioneer Champion. Hegwood is an auctioneer and real estate agent for Nick Clark Auctions in Madison.

For more information about the Mississippi Auctioneers Association, visit mississippiauctioneers.org.